MrQ: Seems like West should have opened 4♥ straight away. Anyway he opened 3♥, shouldn’t North first double and then (after 3♠ from South) bid 4♦ (showing 16+) which South would then raise to 5♦? What if West opened 4♥ – what should North bid?
MrQ: Should North just leave it in diamonds? Guru: NO, 3♦ is forcing. Lucky if you stop in 3♥. Not easy to make but makeable if you don’t let yourself get forced off (don’t ruff the second or third club, which you have no choice
Bidding: South opens 1♠ – 1NT; 3NT – 4♠; all pass MrQ: Ended up to be average result, 3NT was making 5 without a diamond lead. Guru: You should play 5-card spade openings then the bidding would go 1♣-2♣; 3NT but if more scientific the
Bidding: West opened 1NT – all pass. MrQ: Because we play Hamilton we couldn’t do anything here. If we played Evil 2s South could have overcalled 2♦ showing diamonds and hearts. What should North do then? Fix it to 2♥ following the logic: we have
MrQ: Maybe not entirely strong enough to bid 2♥ if I followed the Rule of 2,3,4 … should North just bid 4♥ straight away? Guru: If you’re playing ordinary weak twos South’s opening is perfectly OK. When EW bid to 3S I think North should bid