Browse By

Category Archives: Bidding

Bidding#15 13/03/2018

Another Sacrifice

MrQ: Should East raise it to 4♠ preemptively? Wouldn’t S bid to 5♦ anyway? You guys doubled 4♠, didn’t bid 5♦. Guru: Yes, East should bid 4♠ every time when West bids 3♠ and that is not necessarily preemptive since there is a TEN card

Bidding#6 13/03/2018

Just Suit Preference

MrQ: 2♥ bid just shows suit preference, might not even have support, South shouldn’t have invited even with void in spades, right? Guru: Indeed, a void in partner’s suit is usually a liability when they can only show preference for your suit. Should have been

Bidding#1 13/03/2018

(Would Be) Good Sacrifice

MrQ: Should North bid to 5♥ or South already had all the information from North showed by 2♥? South accepted 3♠ underbid to bid 4♥ to show that she is happy to bid up to 4♥. You guys bid to 5♥. Guru: Yes, 3♠ was

Board#6 16/03/2018

My First Interclub

Bidding: S opens 1♥ – 2♣ – 2♥ – 2♠ – 3♥ – 4♥ – all pass MrQ: 2♠ by North – is it a reverse? North still bids on the same level (2-level) … Guru: 2♠ by North is a responder’s reverse, enough to

Bidding#18 06/03/2018

Useful Jump Shift from Responder

MrQ: I simply didn’t know how to show strength with my rebid. I guess what I should have done is jump shift (which we have not agreed with my partner on how we play it) to 2♠ on my first bid to show good 5+

Bidding#17 27022018

Use TNT Rule while Competing

MrQ: Should/Could W compete to 4♦? Guru: Yes. Too big a fit not to bid 4♦ but doubling 3♥ is an option, with three certain tricks and the ♦A a possible but not certain trick. The Total Number of Tricks (TNT) Rule says ten trumps

Bidding#09 27022018

Overcall vs Double

MrQ: With my previous teacher I played defence to weak 2 – double with 16+, overcall with 11-15 and 5 card good suit. If I followed this, I would have just overcalled 3♥. I guess I got a bit scared to go to 3 level with

Board#28 01/03/2018

Bashing to Slam

Bidding: N opened 1♥ – 2♦ – 2♠ – 3♦ – 4NT – 5♣ – 5♦ – all pass MrQ: I presume there are ways to show void in clubs and singleton in spades? You were in 6♦. Guru: Yes, we were in 6♦ but

Board#14 01/03/2018

More Unbid Slams

Bidding: N opened 1♥ – 2♣ – 3♥ – 3NT – all pass MrQ: Should North rebid something else instead of 3♥ to show strength and maybe investigate slam (you were in 6NT)? Why did South bid 3NT after 3♥ (showing 6+ hearts) not 4♥?

Board#13 27/02/2018

RKCB Confusion

MrQ: Shouldn’t West go through RKCB rather than bid 6♠ straight away? 3♥ shows only 15 points after 2♣ from West so we could be theoretically lacking 2 aces. Was 3♥ by East better than 3♠ (to show 6 spades) – with void in diamonds