MrQ: Simple question: how to bid to 7♠? After 6♥ from East, I know that we have all the aces and all the kings but I am thinking that we only have 8-card fit in spades because my partner supported my spades to 4♠ only
MrQ: Is there a way to bid this to 4♠ not opening 5-card spade? At the other table opposition bid 4♠ – they were playing Standard American so was easier for them as 1♠ showed 5 of them straight away. Guru: Shouldn’t be a problem.
MrQ: Seems like West should have opened 4♥ straight away. Anyway he opened 3♥, shouldn’t North first double and then (after 3♠ from South) bid 4♦ (showing 16+) which South would then raise to 5♦? What if West opened 4♥ – what should North bid?
Bidding: South opens 1♠ – 1NT; 3NT – 4♠; all pass MrQ: Ended up to be average result, 3NT was making 5 without a diamond lead. Guru: You should play 5-card spade openings then the bidding would go 1♣-2♣; 3NT but if more scientific the
Bidding: West opened 1NT – all pass. MrQ: Because we play Hamilton we couldn’t do anything here. If we played Evil 2s South could have overcalled 2♦ showing diamonds and hearts. What should North do then? Fix it to 2♥ following the logic: we have
MrQ: Maybe not entirely strong enough to bid 2♥ if I followed the Rule of 2,3,4 … should North just bid 4♥ straight away? Guru: If you’re playing ordinary weak twos South’s opening is perfectly OK. When EW bid to 3S I think North should bid
Bidding: North opens 1♥ – 1NT – 3♥ – all pass MrQ: Could/Should South bid anything after 3♥ from North? Guru: The bidding would show a very good heart suit and inviting game. South’s AK in diamonds may be good enough to bid 4♥, a
MrQ: 3♣ was actually Checkback Stayman and West should have responded 3♠ to show 5 spades (and lack of 4 hearts – as we play it) but East thought 3♣ is natural. Anyway Checkback Stayman would work here. But if we didn’t play Checkback Stayman
MrQ: This was opponents playing but they ended up in 4♥ with 5-2 fit. We concluded with my partner that in this situation (assuming that any response from North is showing 4/5+ points) South should have bid 3NT to show North that they have doubleton
MrQ: Was it unreasonable to double 4♣? My thinking was: East showed me 9-11 points in diamonds and hearts so at least AQ or even AK in diamonds, even if AQ hoping K is in North’s hand to lead through it. 3 aces = 3