Browse By

Board#6 16/03/2018

My First Interclub

Bidding: S opens 1♥ – 2♣ – 2♥ – 2♠ – 3♥ – 4♥ – all pass MrQ: 2♠ by North – is it a reverse? North still bids on the same level (2-level) … Guru: 2♠ by North is a responder’s reverse, enough to

Board#2 15/03/2018

Slam Dunk!

Lest you should think that I am too fixated on slams, let me assure you that I am. They are fun to bid and fun to play. But the main reason that I am writing this deal up is this: One week ago I wrote

Bidding#18 06/03/2018

Useful Jump Shift from Responder

MrQ: I simply didn’t know how to show strength with my rebid. I guess what I should have done is jump shift (which we have not agreed with my partner on how we play it) to 2♠ on my first bid to show good 5+

Board#21 08/03/2018

Ruminating on Openings

Board 21 from Thursday 8/03/2018 Dealer N NS Vul Would you open the East hand a weak 2♠? Would you open it ONE spade? If East opened 2♠, what would you do as West? There were a number of different contracts, from 2♠ to 3♣

Bidding#17 27022018

Use TNT Rule while Competing

MrQ: Should/Could W compete to 4♦? Guru: Yes. Too big a fit not to bid 4♦ but doubling 3♥ is an option, with three certain tricks and the ♦A a possible but not certain trick. The Total Number of Tricks (TNT) Rule says ten trumps

Bidding#09 27022018

Overcall vs Double

MrQ: With my previous teacher I played defence to weak 2 – double with 16+, overcall with 11-15 and 5 card good suit. If I followed this, I would have just overcalled 3♥. I guess I got a bit scared to go to 3 level with

Bidding#01 27022018

Top of Doubleton Lead

MrQ: Seems a lot of things went wrong here. Should West double with this holding? East showed the other major rather than diamonds – again, misunderstanding how we play takeout doubles. ♠10 lead and ♠Q wining a trick (East thought South is sitting with AQ

Board#28 01/03/2018

Bashing to Slam

Bidding: N opened 1♥ – 2♦ – 2♠ – 3♦ – 4NT – 5♣ – 5♦ – all pass MrQ: I presume there are ways to show void in clubs and singleton in spades? You were in 6♦. Guru: Yes, we were in 6♦ but

Board#14 01/03/2018

More Unbid Slams

Bidding: N opened 1♥ – 2♣ – 3♥ – 3NT – all pass MrQ: Should North rebid something else instead of 3♥ to show strength and maybe investigate slam (you were in 6NT)? Why did South bid 3NT after 3♥ (showing 6+ hearts) not 4♥?

Board#13 27/02/2018

RKCB Confusion

MrQ: Shouldn’t West go through RKCB rather than bid 6♠ straight away? 3♥ shows only 15 points after 2♣ from West so we could be theoretically lacking 2 aces. Was 3♥ by East better than 3♠ (to show 6 spades) – with void in diamonds