Pass and Hope for the Best
MrQ: Seems like West should have opened 4♥ straight away. Anyway he opened 3♥, shouldn’t North first double and then (after 3♠ from South) bid 4♦ (showing 16+) which South would then raise to 5♦? What if West opened 4♥ – what should North bid?
Guru: Double in both instances but the big problem is the doubleton spade. As a rule, a double of a four level opening bid shows great strength in the other THREE suits and when North doubles 4♥ South bids 4♠ which North just has to pass and hope for the best.